Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,434

4 members and 3,430 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,096
Threads: 248,539
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, eamorris97
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Registered User Serpentine_Queen's Avatar
    Thanks

Question Is my ball python hungry?

Today my male ball python (161 grams empty) was wandering around during the day time. His pupils were huge and has short, fast tongue flicks. He is 6 months old, and he is about 22 inches. I'm new to owning a ball python but I have already fed him 2 since I got him (every 6 days). I'm going to feed him tomorrow, but I wonder if I should feed him every 5 days instead of 6 days. He is currently eating rat pups, and I measure them before I thaw them (I grab the smaller ones which are about 25 grams). He is also slithering up the side of the tank, I have a light bulb just to brighten up his enclosure and most of the time I have it off. I also have a heat mat (The light doesn't produce heat), and his warm side is 91°F, and his cool side sits at 80°F always. His humidity is a constant 55%. I just wanted to ask if he is indeed hungry or if he knows its food time tomorrow.
    Last edited by Serpentine_Queen; 02-02-2020 at 02:06 PM.

Thanks
    If you have fed him twice since owning him (every 6 days) I am guessing he is not hungry. You might describe your enclosure, how it's heated and what the temps and humidity are and what kind of hides you have. I know every snake grows at different rates but when our new BP was 4 months old he was 214 grams and around 300 at 6 months old.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Midwest For This Useful Post:

Bogertophis (02-02-2020)

BPnet Veteran
    Thanks
    Read this, print it out an use it. No, it's not the end all but it is the best start I've read anywhere.