Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,291

3 members and 3,288 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,541
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
    Thanks

ovulation question

Hello,

This is my first year of breeding, read up a lot.

But I was wondering about one thing, here is a little back story to the question:

My normal has been locking up with my pewter bee 2 times, I started end of september/early november.
    She is a about 5,5 feet and roughly about 3 kilo atm, she is a proven breeder and said to produce 10+ eggs.
    She shed end of december for the last time. since early december till 4th of january she was seeking the cool side.

The 4th of january I took this picture (she has some stuck shed but shes been really grumpy lol):

Ever since that picture she has mainly been laying like this on the warm side:

And when I took the picture on the 4th of january I did think she was 1 fat little bugger, but did not really think anything else.

Also will they keep on eating up on till ovulation or is that diffrent for all cases ?

2. The Following User Says Thank You to Devenco For This Useful Post:

ECechoHO (01-08-2016)

Thanks

Re: ovulation question

At risk of getting your hopes up, I think those are promising signs. My first year breeding, I was struck by how un-gravid my girls looked. I didn't see any obvious bulges, couldn't even feel follicles on the large female I had (before ovulation, which I was lucky to catch). The only signs that tipped me off were their sudden behavior changes - irritability/restlessness, hugging the heat, and right before they laid they had ridge-back (their spines were very pronounced).