Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,242

1 members and 3,241 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,100
Threads: 248,542
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Scott L.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks

Car folk, caliper question help.

So, last time I changed my brake pads (a while ago), the pistons were pretty stiff getting pushed back. I've just remembered about it recently when someone asked me to change their brake pads.

I'm a complete noob when it comes to car repair, and there is some conflicting information online. Some people say, if you aren't good with cars, get a mechanic to grease the caliper and pins and all that jazz.

Or, replace the caliper since they are fairly cheap. Again, mechanic? Or given my small skill set, is it feasable for me to do it myself?

Never bled brakes before either, so that would be new to me.

Should mention, it's a 97 monte carlo.

Old enough to remember. Freakie_frog's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,884 Times in 2,148 Posts
    Blog Entries

Re: Car folk, caliper question help.

Replacing the calipers is no big deal. However if the Calapers aren't leaking then their no reason to replace them if you do replace them you'll have to bleed the brakes, and thats a pain. The best way to puch the calipers pistons back a a 'C' clamp.
    When you've got 10,000 people trying to do the same thing, why would you want to be number 10,001? ~ Mark Cuban
    "for the discerning collector"

Thanks

Yes, I don't know how I would change brake pads without a C clamp. Anyways, what would tell tale signs of leaking be? Rust?

So would you think a sticky piston is worth greasing, or changing out the caliper completely if it's easy enough to do?

Thanks
    Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by littleindiangirl View Post