Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,251

3 members and 3,248 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,541
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Am I ready for a retic?

I really want to get a retic I've been keeping snakes for over two years I have kept honduran milks, all kinds of kings, hog noses, 6 ball pythons,sand boas,gophers,corns,different kinds of rat snakes and a large dumerils boa.Currently I have 18 snakes, I have lots of space and time for a larger snake and am very comfortable handling large snakes.I have done lots of research on retics but wanted peoples opinions who have actually kept retics.So do you think I would be ready for a retic?

3.3 Ball pythons 1 pastel,1 spider,0.1 Cal. King,0.1. bearded dragons,0.1 yellow anaconda,3.3 leopard gecko,1.1 hognoses,0.0.1 golden gecko,1.0 kenyan sand boa,1.2 corn snakes,1.1 crested geckos,1.0 san diego gopher snake,0.0.2 rose hairs,0.0.1 cobalt blues,0.0.1 sunburst babboon,1.1 empereor scorpions

BPnet Veteran
    Thanks

Re: Am I ready for a retic?

That varies greatly on the person.

The basic questions are
    Do you have the space to keep a snake that can possibly reach lengths of 20'?
    Have you ever dealt with larger snake species before?
    Do you have a constant food supply of large food items such as rabbits, pigs etc?
    Do you have the money to afford its food and caging?
    Do you have multiple people that would be willing to assist in removing the snake from its cage whether it be to clean or to give antibiotics? Generally 1 person for every 5' of the snake.
    Are you aware of "hook training"?
    And some more questions I'm sure I am missing.