Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,276

1 members and 3,275 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,102
Threads: 248,542
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Geezy99
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Talking My snake keeps trying to Bite me??

So I just got a new Ball Python from a breeder. She's about 600g now and i take it she hasn't been handled much. What is the technique for tamming her?? She's very skiddish and trys to bite me if i put anything in the cage!

She has been in a box for the last 12 hours or so, might that be adding to her unrest.

This is my second Ball Python and my other one has always been very tame so I am new with this sort of snake who isn't people friendly.

Any advice on getting her to stop trying to eat me would be great!

Thanks!

Thanks
    Thanked 1,374 Times in 1,053 Posts

Re: My snake keeps trying to Bite me??

First: With a new ball python, wait a week at least before any handling sessions. You can move them around a bit if you need to clean the cage and whatnot, but give a new ball python quite a bit of time to get used to a new home.

Second: bitey snakes often grow out of it. 600 grams is a bit big for a ball python to still have "hatchling" nervousness so I guess she just hasn't ever really been handled.

Best thing to do is assume you are going to get bit. Be calm, be careful. Move slowly but surely without hesitation. Wear thick leather gloves if you need to. During handling sessions, just gently pick up the snake(even if you get struck at while picking her up), and get her used to your hands/arms as just being snake furniture rather than predators trying to eat her.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to mainbutter For This Useful Post:

JbirdAg96 (04-22-2009)

Thanks

yeah you really just wanna leave her alone for a week and let her settle in.