Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,435

1 members and 3,434 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,096
Threads: 248,538
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, eamorris97
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Force Feeding

Thanks

Force Feeding

I thought this would be an interesting topic to post to get everybodys feedback and knowledge of force feeding. I am no pro myself but I have successfully force feed 4-5 bps in the past as a last resort, the largest of them about 450grams. I was wondering though how everybdy goes about force feeding when they absolutely have to, obviously as a last resort. I had a heck of a time forcing my 450bp in the past I cannot imagine having to force feed a 1500gram animal. Anyways whats everybodys take on force feeding? How do you go about it? What do you use? What measures do you take to make sure there is no harm done to the animal?

Thanks
    Thanked 1,029 Times in 195 Posts

Re: Force Feeding

I've been keeping ball pythons for over 28 years ... thousands of animals (mostly in the last decade) ... I've never had to force feed a single snake.

Hope this helps.

-adam
    Click Below to Fight The National Python & Boa Ban

"The world is a dangerous place, not because of those who do evil, but because of those who look on and do nothing."
    - Anna Sewell, author of Black Beauty

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Adam_Wysocki For This Useful Post:

rabernet (01-03-2009),Wh00h0069 (01-03-2009)

Telling it like it is! Stewart_Reptiles's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 20,811 Times in 9,584 Posts
    Blog Entries

I am curious to see what you call last resort?

How long did the animals fast for? How much body weight did they lose? What attempt were made before force feeding?