Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,236

1 members and 3,235 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,095
Threads: 248,538
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Daisyg
    Thanks

Appearance questions

I'm new to snakes, and i just got my first snake yesterday. I'm not realy sure whats normal or what to expect from snakes so i'm a little confused/worried.

1.While playing with her i noticed that she had a what seemed like a split on the underside of her mouth. A slit or opening of some sort. It doesn't seem to be causing her any problems, it isn't bloody, and it looks like a natural occurence, but i have no idea if it is natural or what it is, should i be worried or is it normal?

2.Also, what color should her underbelly be? She's a month old and has the slightest pinkness under on her stomach. It does't seem off but again i dont really know.

3. Her head seems almost blue. There is a bluish tint to her head, and when you look at it it seems almost greasy. I dont think it's actually grease, i think it's just color, but its hard to tell without touching her head. Is that normal?

Thanks for any feedback. I'm really loving my snake and wanna make sure she gets the best.

Thanks

Re: Appearance questions

1.While playing with her i noticed that she had a what seemed like a split on the underside of her mouth. A slit or opening of some sort. It doesn't seem to be causing her any problems, it isn't bloody, and it looks like a natural occurence, but i have no idea if it is natural or what it is, should i be worried or is it normal?

Snakes mouth split sideways on the lower jaw to allow prey items to be swallowed. They also unhinge.

2.Also, what color should her underbelly be? She's a month old and has the slightest pinkness under on her stomach. It does't seem off but again i dont really know.