Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,317

2 members and 3,315 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,095
Threads: 248,538
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Daisyg
    Thanks

Cool Heat Pad on side of tank

Hello everyone, I am new to the BP community and a new owner of a beautiful ball python. I bought a huge tank for him, and it came with a heating pad on the side of the tank. It seems less efficient (heat will escape the exposed side of the pad) than an underbody heating pad. So here's my question..

Is there much of a difference between having the heating element on the side rather than the bottom of the tank?

And would I be safe in unsticking it from the side and moving it to the bottom? I'm not sure if this is specifically made for the side of a tank, or if it even matters at all.

Thanks for all the help.

Thanks

Re: Heat Pad on side of tank

First, welcome to the land of Ball Python!

Ok, how big is huge? Also, how old is your new BP? Regardless, the tank probably shouldn't be any larger than a 30gal even for an adult.

As far as the UTH on the side, I had mine there for a while before I decided to start using cypress mulch bedding for humidity and placed one on bottom. Side works well, and if it's a zoomed or other such brand, the heat only really goes one way and does not escape the other side. As long as you have a good thermostat or at least a rheostat for it, you should be fine.
    Taking it off...well there have been few successes of having them work after peeling, but it can happen. My advice would be to get another pad and apply it underneath if that's the way you have to go should side not work for you.
    **Adriana - White 'N Nerdy!**

1.0 BP 'SunSpot', 0.1 Corn 'Freya', 1.0 IJ BTS 'Topaz', 1.0 ND bunny 'Licorice'

Thanks