Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,271

3 members and 3,268 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,541
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Banned
    Thanks

Help needed pronto

Hi, I've been researching ball pythons for a few months now, and am ready to purchase one in the next few days. The only problem is, I'm being told different things and do not know what is better, or recommended. First off, I'm looking for a baby ball python, normal, no morphs or anything, and most importantly, a captive bred one. I originally set my mind on a female, since reading they grow a little longer, and are "beefier." So is there any other major difference between the sexes? Is one more aggressive or the like?

Okay, now for the story...there are two pet stores nearby which are telling me two totally different things (Don't worry, they're not Petco, etc., they are actually privately owned, and each seem very intelligent, especially in regards to reptiles, but each is telling me something different.

The one store is offering me for about $145 (snake included) a whole setup. The reason I didn't go for it right away, is because they only have baby males. Now this is what they recommend: A light/lamp as opposed to a U.T.H. They then tell me that the UV lights replicate the sun, and it's the closest thing to nature.