Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,290

0 members and 3,290 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,100
Threads: 248,542
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Scott L.
    Thanks

When to start feeding new BP?

Hi all! I am new to everything and received my ball in the mail last tuesday (so almost 6 days) and he had eaten 5 days prior. He is 2 MO old. I know to leave him alone for 1-2 weeks but I wanted to check to see when I should start trying to offer him food? He doesn’t come out at all and he just shed/pooped 2 days ago so i’m sure he’s still adjusting. Will he come out more when he’s hungry? I just want to make sure I don’t do anything wrong haha!

BPnet Senior Member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,914 Times in 843 Posts
    Congrats on your new little one!
    You can try to offer food in another two days.
    BPs are more of an ambush hunter so unless they're settled in, a lot of times they hide away until prey is close enough to strike. If tomorrow you see a little snoot peeking out of the hide box, that's a good sign they're ready to eat soon. Typically they'll dart out of the hide and grab the meal, coiling it up in the hidebox, so be careful poking around the entrance!

You're going to want to offer as close to what the breeder did for the first couple of meals just so that the prey seems familiar. After they settle in and start growing you can size up or attempt any other changes, but the first couple of meals are important.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Armiyana For This Useful Post:

Bogertophis (09-26-2023),Homebody (09-26-2023)

Thanks
    Thanked 2,206 Times in 1,193 Posts

Re: When to start feeding new BP?

Quote Originally Posted by isp206 View Post
    I know to leave him alone for 1-2 weeks ...