Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,324

3 members and 3,321 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,541
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
    Thanks

Exposure to parasites/diseases

I see a lot of advice against feeding wild caught prey to bp’s because of the risk of disease, parasites, etc., but I am curious as to how much of a threat it really is. A wild snake is catching wild prey and growing up healthy into adulthood, so why is it such a concern for a pet snake to do the same?

my reason for asking is because i have a juvenile/adolescent bp who would not attract to frozen/thawed mice no matter what i tried. i have been feeding him live mice successfully for the three months i have had him. i must drive a ways to a pet store to get them, however.

today at work, i was assigned to removing several sparrow nests from the lofts of an overhang above an entryway around the front office area of the factory i work at. i recovered some living baby sparrows that will surely die regardless of what i do with them. they appear healthy, and i have them in a pet carrier container. they are perfect size prey for my snake, but the warnings about diseases and parasites have me wondering if it is too risky or if those warnings are to negate low probability outcomes.

A wild snake would eat these baby birds without thinking twice, and most likely without any negative outcomes. I would appreciate any advice or educated response with information on this topic.

2. The Following User Says Thank You to anson For This Useful Post:

Bogertophis (08-19-2023)

Thanks
    Thanked 2,202 Times in 1,189 Posts

Re: Exposure to parasites/diseases

Quote Originally Posted by anson View Post