Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,329

5 members and 3,324 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,539
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
    Thanks

Question Large racks for ball pythons?

The age old question: racks.

I've been considering getting into breeding ball pythons for a couple of years now, especially since there are very few people in my country who breed the morphs I'm interested in breeding. My main concern would be space. A lot of posts on racks on here are pretty old and potentially outdated.

I've found tubs that are 100x80x35cm(approximately 40x32x14 inches).
    That's 0.8 square meters floor space, or about 65 gallons/260 quart. 130cm/50 inches on the diagonal.
    Would they be sufficient for an adult ball python?

Additionally, what would the best way to go about heating be?
    Last edited by luckylukey; 04-16-2023 at 09:36 AM.

Thanks
    Thanked 19,834 Times in 11,848 Posts
    I'm not a user of racks (or tubs) so I'll let others address that part, but they ("racks") all seem to use heat tapes in specially-designed tracks & (of course!) using a thermostat.

The size you describe sounds adequate for an adult BP.
    Rudeness is the weak man's imitation of strength.
    Eric Hoffer (1902 - 1983)

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Bogertophis For This Useful Post:

Homebody (04-16-2023),luckylukey (04-16-2023)

Thanks

Re: Large racks for ball pythons?

Quote Originally Posted by Bogertophis View Post
    I'm not a user of racks (or tubs) so I'll let others address that part, but they ("racks") all seem to use heat tapes in specially-designed tracks & (of course!) using a thermostat.

The size you describe sounds adequate for an adult BP.