Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,312

3 members and 3,309 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,095
Threads: 248,538
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Daisyg

Thread: ASFs keep dying

Thanks

ASFs keep dying

1,5 week ago I bought 16 ASFs 4M/12F I also bought appropriate mice feed and black sunflower seeds and dried mealworms in addition of feeding them fresh meal worms

However, upon transferring the ASFs from the travel container into their lab bin. I saw that one ASFs was on the brink of death and it died the same day. I take good care of my little buddies, and 1,5 week later the death count is 6. What the heck is happening!?

Why are they dying like flies, look I do not care if a few drop when I have a colony going or whatever, but right now I’m just starting out and actually need to get my first litter to keep it going. But with the massive death rate I facing right now. I wondering if I will see my first litter.

I’m aware that there is a possibility that a few drop, but 6 within a time span of 2 weeks! That can not be normal, or is it? I’m not aware of their age, but I weight one and it was around 30gr/1.05oz I will add a picture, based on the weight I assume they are around 1,5 month old.

Link of screenshot:

https://ibb.co/Q9B046G

Last edited by Bogertophis; 04-06-2023 at 10:22 PM.

Thanks
    Thanked 19,830 Times in 11,847 Posts
    Sorry, I have no experience with ASF's (lots with rats, mice & hamsters though). That sounds fishy to me- like they're not really healthy to start with. Very sad & frustrating. Hopefully others that have raised ASFs will have input.
    Rudeness is the weak man's imitation of strength.
    Eric Hoffer (1902 - 1983)

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Bogertophis For This Useful Post:

Homebody (04-07-2023)

BPnet Senior Member
    Thanks