Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,237

1 members and 3,236 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,095
Threads: 248,538
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Daisyg
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Prolapsed Cloaca- insects?

Hello, all,

A bit of a grim post. Before anyone asks, no, I was unable to take pictures and am not going to disturb her to try.

Nagini, my python, has been very healthy up until now. I went to feed her and I noticed what I now believe to be a prolapsed cloaca- what looks like a blockage of internal tissue extruding out of the vent/cloaca (I'm no expert on their anatomy; this is what I Googled after seeing it for ten seconds). She did not seem to be stressed or in pain, and tolerated handling (I touched her before I saw the anomaly). I do not know how serious a prolapse is, if that's what I'm looking at. There seemed to be small insects/mites crawling on the tissue, which freaked me out more than anything.

I have not handled/observed her in the past few days. She just had a very successful shed, and it seems she shed a second time just now (I believe I saw another skin in there). She switched hiding places; the shed was in her usual spot, she was in a different spot she sometimes goes to.

I cannot afford an emergency vet (and I don't believe the local emergency vet sees reptiles anyways), but I placed a call with my herp vet and will try to get her in tomorrow.

Basically, what I need to know right now is, should I be preparing to say goodbye? Also, what did I do wrong here that could have prevented this?

Thanks
    Thanked 19,829 Times in 11,846 Posts
    Definitely get her to vet A.S.A.P.- it's serious but not necessarily the 'end'...though I've never heard of a prolapse with insects! Do everything you can to