Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,274

1 members and 3,273 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,095
Threads: 248,538
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Daisyg
    Thanks

Question Your experiences with incubation periods for a RI?

The quick question: If a snake has been exposed to another snake with RI, what is the incubation period for the infection? I can't find any info online and vet isn't sure! Am happy even just to know your own experiences.

The long story (for those who are bored haha):
    I've really gotten into snakes in the past two years and am now have 5 bps! It's addictive! Everything has been going great until this past summer... I got a new bp from the breeder I've been buying from for the past two years. I brought my new girl home, and she was great. Very small for her size, but she seemed to be very shy (in her hide a lot) and a bit of a fussy eater so I figured that was why.

Fast forward a month or so, and on feeding day, I notice she's yawning a lot and something about her body language just LOOKS off. I contacted the breeder, and they told me their collection has had an outbreak of RI. One of her clutch mates was actually sick at the time I bought my new girl (they didn't know at the time and caught it a few days later) and they were kept next to each other on the shelf. Pretty choked because I feel they should have told me this as soon as they found out.

I got my girl to the vet right away and put her on antibiotics, and she was been moved to a separate room in the house. She has been great after her antibiotics- great appetite suddenly and super perky, which makes me think she might have been sick this entire time from when I got her. I am now leaving her apart from the others for 3 months to make sure she's okay.