Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 1,971

2 members and 1,969 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,129
Threads: 248,573
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, KILLER112397
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks

Finally got my first noodle!

Hey everyone. I got myself my first ball python finally. I've always wanted one but just never went through with it. I found a super sweet female. I think she's just reg normal but I'm a noob so I'm not sure. I'm just working on getting the husbandry all dialed in now. She was admittedly neglected as the owner went to college and she was left with the parents. The setup she came with had great hides but there was no other source of heat other than a bulb. The first night was only 65 degrees and less than 30% humidity. I got some heat pads and have her warm hide at 89-91 and the cold side was 79 with humidity at 50-60%. I'm still playing around seeing how everything reacts. She's a lot more active now that she's not freezing. They were feeding her 3 live feeder mice every 10 days. I fed her 3 on Thursday and she eats like a champ even being in shed. I'm sure she's way past ready to step up to bigger prey but I'll worry about that later. I don't want to change to much at once. She seems to be settling in great and is always easy to handle and goes exploring when I put her down. The only real concern I have now is that I got her on Tuesday and she was already shedding and she still has the eye caps. I've been trying to keep the humidity higher and spray her with warm water a few times a day to hopefully help with that. It came off in pieces and se's got a bit stuck in a couple spots behind her head. Everything else looks new and those bits and the eyes are all that's left but I thought the whole process was only supposed to take a few days. Any advice with that