Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,851

1 members and 3,850 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,095
Threads: 248,538
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Daisyg
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    BPnet Veteran
    Thanks

Can anyone tell me more about these skin abnormalities?

Hi,

I recently got a green tree python, and noticed some of these irregularities in his skin. I was wondering if these were things to be worried about. He's taken his first couple meals without issue. He was grounded for a few days, but does come perch on his perches from time to time. I'm new to snake keeping, so came here looking to be educated!

Thanks for any help!

2. The Following User Says Thank You to PiperPython For This Useful Post:

richardhind1972 (01-03-2018)

Thanks
    Thanked 1,478 Times in 824 Posts
    First could be an abscess starting or scar from improper injection. Second could be scarring from a heat source, prey bite, or really bad shed.

He looks a little plump have you been able to weigh him? Also where did you get him from and do you have a qualified exotic vet nearby? I would highly recommend getting a fecal float done to rule out parasites. Even captive bred are known to harbor them from the prevalence of breeding stock swapping going on. It pays in the long run to have a check up done to make sure they are healthy. These wonderful snakes can get lethargic rather easy and don't show outward symptoms of issues so it is often better to be proactive rather than reactive.

The lump can be check for possibility of tumor or abscess infection and if infection can be taken care of before it gets bad.