Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,999

2 members and 2,997 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,124
Threads: 248,568
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Rai
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Reticulated python diet question?

So i was browsing on youtube and saw on prehistoric pets that you can slow grow Retics keeping them slightly smaller by feeding a Reticulated something the size of their centre girth every 7-10 days but i dont know if it is healthy or not as i see lots of mixed opinons about this, Me personally i dont think it looks unhealthy as the diet looks stable and the snake is not being overfed, but im not an expert at keeping Reticulated Pythons so i would like to get the opinions of others on this topic.

Thanks
    Thanked 6,341 Times in 3,220 Posts
    Well, that depends on the retic. Some, if they get hungry will push like crazy and tear up their face so bad they could need vet care. Caesar was like that and if not fed every 5-7 days as a baby, he would push and scrape his chin all up and split his lip. Now that he is older, he only pushes when he wants attention at night and when i open a door and pet him for a while, he will quiet down lol. He is a needy snake though which is kind of a surprise to me...a snake that seems to want interaction.
    0.1 Rio Bravo Pokigron Suriname BC-Gina
    1.0 Meltzer/Lincoln Peruvian Longtail het anery BCL-Louie

0.1 Biak Green Tree Python-Pat
    ​1.0 OSHY Biak Green Tree Python-Alex
    0.0.1 Super Reduced Reticulated Gila Monster-Dozer
    0.0.1 Utah Banded Gila Monster-Tank
    0.0.1 Super Black Beaded Lizard-Reggie

Thanks
    Thanked 1,049 Times in 622 Posts