Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,142

1 members and 3,141 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,095
Threads: 248,538
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Daisyg
    Thanks

Lots of questions! Handling, dangers, enrichment, lifespan.

Okay I have quite a few questions for some of you pros out there. I've been keeping reptiles for 3 years. I've done tons of research and I do consider myself to be well educated on these animals but I never fail to learn more and more every day. Lately, I've been really concerned in giving the best life I possibly can give my gorgeous Royal python Athena. She's a female, 2033g pastel Royal. I have no intentions to breed her, she's just a really lovely companion. Questions are
    -how do I give my snake the most enrichment, and exercise needed to be healthy?
    -how often to handle?
    - do things like lotion on my hands, oil (coconut oil, baby oil, Argan oil) etc bother her or cause any danger? I take good care of my skin and I worry about touching her after. Even if the product has already absorbed into my skin
    -my current setup is a 40 gallon reptile tank, UTH hooked to a thermostat of 92 degrees, 2 lights over head, one regular light on cool end, one heat lamp on hot end. Kept humid by spraying once a day. Moss and coco husk is used as a substrate. Do I need to change anything? If so please comment!
    -regarding her past medical issues, she has been making noises for awhile. Went to the vet and got a culture recently nothing came up. Is the odd whistle/wheeze normal?
    -any other tips for a healthy, long life for a royal? Thank you!! I know this is a long list but I need the advice and help

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks

Re: Lots of questions! Handling, dangers, enrichment, lifespan.

Also typical life span?

Thanks