Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 1,270

1 members and 1,269 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,137
Threads: 248,581
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, dangereux
    Thanks

Very Concerned - New To BPs and Need Help

Hi there!

I am brand new to BPs. A few weeks ago, I purchased a very healthy 3 year old female. She looks amazing.

Yesterday, I found an ad online for a free male that someone was moving and no longer wanted. The person claimed he was 6 years old and only eating hoppers every 3 weeks. Apparently he was extremely picky. I was concerned but decided to check him out.

As soon as I arrived, I could see he was tiny. It wasn't until I got home where I could really see how small he was. I can't pick him up because she fed him just before I arrived to see him (grrr). I've included pictures. I am concerned he is extremely underweight or she lied about his age. I suspect he may just be a hatchling she became bored of. I am running out to Walmart today to pick up a scale, and to buy a new heat mat. She had him with a heat lamp and a mat, but I found the mat getting extremely hot and the bulb seems faulty (keeps flickering).

If anyone has any opinions on his age/size, any suggestions for what I should do, or maybe if I am over-reacting, please let me know. I am new to this so trying my best. I hope I don't sound like an idiot! I really love this guy and will do ANYTHING to make him better.

Thanks

Re: Very Concerned - New To BPs and Need Help

It's hard to tell age but 6 years old doesn't seem right,maybe they meant 6 months? Just feed him the appropriate size prey once a week, 3 weeks for a meal at his size isn't right.