Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,358

2 members and 3,356 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,541
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
    BPnet Veteran
    Thanks

Mice for Ball Pythons?

Hey everyone, I've been breeding my own rats for about 18 months now and I'm really happy with the results. However, I have a few ball pythons who are kinda picky and I have a feeling would prefer mice. I was thinking of starting to breed a small colony of mice for those who prefer them. However, I'm concerned with two things

1) Would I be able to switch back and forth between mice and rats, only offering mice when the snake refused a rat? I feel like this would lead to a straight mouse, which I would like to avoid.

2) How long does it take for a mouse to become an adult and how many adult mice would, let's say, a 1000g ball python need at each weekly feeding?

Also, I should mention that I would be keeping the mice outside on my patio. I live in south FL so it can get warm. The rats do fine, would mice be okay too?

Thanks everyone for your advice
    Last edited by EvergladesExotics; 04-29-2016 at 10:24 AM.
    Specializing in superior quality Ball Pythons

BPnet Veteran
    Thanks
    I dont feed mice to anything I don't have to. I currently am down to 1 mouser and i prefer to just buy a couple mice a week. I don't even know if it's.true that your rat Feeders will get hooked on mice but I don't want to take a chance.

As far.as growing, by about 8-10 weeks they should be 30-40 grams but they will.keep growing slowly for longer than that. I had one large mouser female and she would clean up 4-5 mice a week easily, specially after laying eggs
    Last edited by chilliscale; 04-29-2016 at 10:43 AM.

Thanks
    Don't use mice until you have no other option!