Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,197

0 members and 3,197 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,096
Threads: 248,539
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, eamorris97
    Thanks

Field Herping in Southeastern Wisconsin?

Field Herping means finding snakes in the wild for observation, right? Not collecting? Or is it both? Sorry! I'm new at this. Any way....I live in Southeastern WI, and I would love some tips on finding snakes in the wild. I would be finding them just for fun, observation, and photos. I have heard that there is a website to log all your sightings, which could be interesting. When I first moved to this frozen wasteland, I mean, state...I lived in a town about an hour and a half south of my current home, and there was a field behind our apartments where I started finding all these snakes. It was the first time I'd really been able to touch a snake, and I fell in love. To this day, I am not sure what kind of snakes those were. (I was about 12 then.) They were in groups hiding under these large chunks of broken up cement in the field. The grouping makes me think of Garter snakes, but I remember them being more green then any Garter snake I have read about. Could they have been some type of grass snake?