Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,417

3 members and 3,414 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,100
Threads: 248,542
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Scott L.
    Thanks

Ball python collection planning help needed

Hi guys and gals,

I am fairly new to the reptile keeping scene but have done about 2 years worth of research already. I live in South Africa so new genes are very expensive to import but most of the base morphs are easy to acquire.

Basically need some advice on planning for the future to get best collection possible. My main idea is to have Pieds with various added genes.
    I would like to keep the collection fairly small with about 10 to 15 adults and then about the same number of babies/sub-adults.

My current collection consist of a male and female Het pied pair and a Het red axanthic female (received as a gift).

Would love to pair the Het Red Axanthic with a banana in the future to get a really purplish snake.

What other genes are worthwhile to put into Pieds ( I have gone through the WOBP and google images ) ?
    So far Yellowbelly, Orange dream, Enchi, Fire and Banana are the standouts for me. Ultimate dream would be double recessive - Ultramel pied or a Axanthic pied.

Spieds ( Spider pieds) and the other pieds with just a head color would be more difficult to sell I would presume?

My plan in my head so far is to get at least 3 Pied females up to breeding age and then start producing Het's to breed back to them or buying Het pied males (if I can find any).

Thanks

Re: Ball python collection planning help needed

Hi!