Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,288

1 members and 3,287 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,102
Threads: 248,542
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Geezy99
    Thanks

General Advice for a New Owner

Pretty new to this site and to having my baby ball python. Been reading some stuff on here about people having problems that i'm having with my little Monty and figured starting a new thread here would be my best option for help. I'm pretty new to keeping a snake and am looking for any help I can get.

I have my Monty in a 30 Gal tank right now with a mesh top. I've also just added more new aspen bedding and moved a lot of his hides after I had him out for this weeks' feeding and bath. I'm thinking he's going to be shedding soon cause he's had dry flaky belly scales for a few days now, and I was worried he was dehydrated. I read up that he's probably just starting his shedding cycle, and I'm going to be starting to soak him about 15-30 mins every 3 days. His eyes havven't clouded over yet so i think I still have time to get him up to good moisture levels.

I'm heating the tank currently with what was his red night time light because the blue daytime one burned out and I haven't had the money to get new bulbs. Both bulbs are 60W, again, not sure if that is too low or too high, but it does keep his hot side in the 80's. As for it being open, I'll see what I can do about getting some outer covver to hide the walls of his tank, save the front, and see how that goes.