Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,238

3 members and 3,235 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,539
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks

dog food and breeding rats

hello im new to breeding rats. I keep seeing a lot of people who saying dog food isn't a good choice to feed rats. I have been feeding ol'roy that has the high protein and high fat. 27% protein and 13% fat. they love it. I also keep seeing that you should keep the protein under 20%. my thoughts is that if females are breeding heavily wouldn't they want as much protein and fat as they can especially when they are nursing? As im new to this im just looking for tips. I haven't been able to find a good supplier of mazuri anywhere. I live in Wichita ks. I aslo give them carrots and celery everyday which they love. I pay 22 bucks a bag for the dog food currently. is there any reason I should switch to something else? im having high numbers in my breeding. babies range anywhere from 12 to 18 per litter and haven't lost a 1. I have about 150 females that are about 8 to 10 weeks old but haven't produced a litter yet. when can I expect them to start breeding? any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks

Telling it like it is! Stewart_Reptiles's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 20,811 Times in 9,584 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Ideally you want 18% protein, too much protein and you are risking kidney failure, you also want to feed food without red dye.
    Deborah Stewart

Sometimes It Hurts... PitOnTheProwl's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 6,985 Times in 4,274 Posts
    See there is the problem......
    Many of the dog foods with close to the correct protein run about $20ish a bag.
    Mazuri rodent is $27 a bag here and it lasts longer.