Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,195

0 members and 3,195 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,096
Threads: 248,539
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, eamorris97
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Unhappy Is my snake starving himself?!?

I'm so afraid I will get yelled at again but although I'm not a professional I do care for my pet and I'm willing to try anything to help him. I asked what I should do at the new pet store I've been buying rats at and they simply yelled at me for ever feeding him live rats and basically told me he probably got scratched by a rat and will now starve himself and there is nothing I can do. I was given Sebastian as a young ball python when I was 18 years old and I started feeding him live mice like the kid who gave him to me was doing before. I would feed him more and more mice as he grew and eventually upgraded him to live rats. Fast forward 7 years and he's been eating large rats for awhile now. About 6 months ago he started refusing to eat. I killed the rat and gave it back to him like I was instructed by a Google search. He refused that as well and I eventually had to toss it. Several times since I have tried frozen rats, smaller rats, making sure his humidity and temperate is correct, ect. Yesterday I finally got him to eat for the first time in what seems like forever!!! But it was a mouse. On the last trip to the store I desperately bought a mouse and a small rat hoping he would eat them because they're so small. This is a grown adult ball and I know one mouse has not filled him up but the small rat has been in his tank for about 24 hours now. The rat even runs up and touches noses with Sebastian and he recoils and acts scared. Suggestions?!? How do I get him to eat?!? He is the only snake I've ever owned and prior to that