Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,155

1 members and 3,154 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,137
Threads: 248,577
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, dangereux
    Thanks

Exclamation Shedding Problems :T

I am new to the blood python scene, and we've been having some issues of late.

In July I got a beautiful early 2015 female matrix blood who I've named Mabel. After about a week of letting her settle in, she's turned out to be a winner. Though nervous at first, her temperament is very calm and she takes handling well. She is also a regular feeder on F/T weened rats which is a blessing. (My pride and joy BP will NOT take F/T).
    All in all she's been great.

Except for the two times she's shed for me. The first time, it was my fault. Her shed was awful and she was very dehydrated at the time. I had her in a glass tank and it was not cutting it for humidity.
    She was only in there for about 2 weeks. She is now in a sterilite plastic tub with two water bowls, two hides,on paper towels. Her temps are 85-90 on her hot spot with a humidity of 50-70%. I'm still fighting to keep my humidity up and misting every other day or so. I also soak her once a week or so just to make sure she's getting enough water and stays hydrated after that first terrible shed.

A week ago when I went to feed, I noticed she was in blue. So, I started misting daily and making sure he water bowls where full and clean twice a day. (Today I actually switched out her two bowls for one giant one. Like it's probably too big but I really want to bring up my humidity so I'm gonna see how it works out). And she was doing fabulously. I figured I'd solved my problems and we where gonna have a great shed.

Nope.