Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,374

4 members and 3,370 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,539
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
    BPnet Veteran
    Thanks

Tegus cohabitation

I have been keeping tegus for 10 years, and have never had a problem with getting them to live together. I used to have a trio of two reds and a b/w, all adult males together for some years. I introduced them and at first the smaller red got pushed around a bit, so I separated them and when he caught up in size, I introduced them again and they lived together for years fine.

Then, I injured my arm, and decided to downsize my reptile collection because I wasn't mobile for a while. I sold the reds (something I deeply regret) and kept the b/w, which today is about 11 years old and doing well.

My arm is all better now, and I have started increasing my number of reptiles again, including tegus. I first purchased a b/w female and introduced to my male, and they cohabitate very well. Then, a month or so later, I took in an adult red male from a family who didn't want to keep him anymore. He was described as a healthy adult male red tegu, which was tame and never attacked a human. All this is true. What I found out was that he attacked other tegus.

He would chase and bite the female, which I thought was breeding behaviour, even though there was no huffing or jowl popping. However, he started biting the male too, at which point I separated them as the others were stressed.