Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,381

2 members and 3,379 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,541
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Cheap feed from farm stores for mice and rats?

Okay, so I currently make my own mix of food, but I'm wanting to expand my rat/mouse breeding project. So, the current food will get way to expensive. I want some food that's convenient for me to get though, and cheap. So, does any one know of any feed that they sell at like, Tractor Supply or Rural King, for around $10-$15 for a 50lb bag? Like, this feed

http://www.tractorsupply.com/en/stor...b?cm_vc=-10005

Idk if you could feed this to them, but the price is awesome. (Nine bucks for fifty pounds!!)

Thanks!

Thanks
    I am no pro on rats but I know that I use 16% protein hog feed and chicken scratch for my ASFs. Costs me about 35$ for both bags about 45kg per bag. Both bags last me about 8 months for the 5 colonies I have. With mice you do not want to feed more then 13% protein and I know my farm store here sells 13% hog feed as well mixed with bird seed.

I am not an expert on mice and have no clue about rats at all. But 13% hog feed and chicken scratch/bird seed will be fine for mice.

Thanks

Re: Cheap feed from farm stores for mice and rats?

when i used to breed my own rodents i always used commercial pig feed. they will eat anything and this is much cheaper than rodent food. i supplemented their diet with household leftovers. any veg that was getting too old to look nice i would add to the feed. sometimes i would buy a huge bucket of carrots or apples that are usually sold as horse feed. these are actually fit for human consumption even but often rejected as not being a nice shape for supermarkets.

Thanks