Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,162

1 members and 3,161 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,541
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91

Thread: Opinions needed

Thanks

Opinions needed

Well I have two ball pythons. I am a newbie and it is very addicting. There are so many morphs to choose from. My question is what type of morph I should get? I have a regular and an albino i picked up from pet store. Don't know sex or any hidden genes. My plan is to breed in the future. I was thinking bumble bee or some type of bee female. After this one i will be getting a male next year. Either a clown or pied male. Thanks for all the opinions.

Thanks

Re: Opinions needed

What do you like? If you go with a pied, spider tends to make very high white pieds, which some people love and others find disappointing. With enchi (if you like stingerbees or enchi pastels), the reverse is true - you'd get very low white pieds. It all comes down to what will take your breath away when you see it in your rack/tank.

As far as a business sense standpoint, you have a few options because pied and clown are recessive genes. Depending on your budget and how much time you want to spend on a project, you can either:

Buy a hatchling pied or clown female now to grow up over the next couple of years, then get a multi-gene het or clown/pied male in a year and (hopefully) have them hit breeding age around the same time. There will be a chance of hitting on pastel, spider, or bee pied/clowns in their first clutch.

Get a female bee het pied, or part of a bee (spider het pied or pastel het pied), then get a male clown/pied that has the gene you're missing from the female. Again, you could possibly get your bee pied/clown in their first clutch.