Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,253

3 members and 3,250 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,541
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Can someone answer my question please? - Bathing my snake.

Hi Guys,

I have a 15 month old male ball python who I just gave my first bath to today. The water was warm water but not hot and when I first put him in he wasn't too sure. After he got used to the water he actually started moving quickly under water and kept sticking his tongue out under water as if he was really enjoying himself. He kept bumping into the walls of the container I was bathing him in. After I got him out, he was much more energetic and seemed A LOT happier. However I couldn't tell as I'm new to owning a snake.

In short, does it sound like my ball python enjoyed his bath or was it stressful for him?

Also when he was in the water, his body felt really relaxed and there was pink stuff coming out from his vent? (The pink stuff was just the inside of his vent) I presume that this is just the water being soaked up by what ever is in the vent? (I was told this by a vet I know).

Thanks,

Dan
    Last edited by Dano94; 04-21-2015 at 01:48 PM.

BPnet Senior Member
    Thanks
    Bathing or soaking BP's is usually nothing but stress for them.
    It is okay to use pine bedding for snakes.
    It is okay to feed live food to snakes.

3. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to 200xth For This Useful Post:

ballpythonluvr (04-21-2015),John1982 (04-21-2015),Shann (04-22-2015)

Thanks

Re: Can someone answer my question please? - Bathing my snake.

I would only bathe my snake if it was dehydrated or had mites. As then they actually sit still and soak

Thanks