Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,213

1 members and 3,212 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,539
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
    Thanks

automotive fluids...

Hey all I've had this on my mind a few weeks now, wondering if you guys can help me out a bit.

I like to handle my bp about every other day or so (skipping feeding time and shed days Obviously) so relatively frequently, my big concern is I am an automotive tech, and a lot of days I have my hands and arms covered in motor oil, trannys and brake fluid, grease, and just about anything else you can think of, and I have a big concern about this.

Obviously I wash up VERY well with fast orange or another pumis or grit based oil cleaner in the shop. Then again when I get home with soap. The problem is even after a few hours after a very good scrubbing, I can still smell faint hints of transmission fluid on my hands. I have not been handling loki on the days I can still detect remnants of trans fluid for fear of it harming loki. My question is should I continue this strict no handling protocol on the days I can still smell the trans fluid? (keep in mind trans fluid is some nasty stuff, they tell us to wear gloves and avoid cuts because apparently it can cause cancer, but the gloves don't cover my arms and that's my main concern, as loki normally hangs out around my arm.)

I just wanted to know if I'm doing the right thing, or am I being too paranoid?

Registered User MontyAndMelissa's Avatar
    Thanks

Re: automotive fluids...

Its better to be safe than sorry.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by MontyAndMelissa View Post
    Its better to be safe than sorry.