Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,366

4 members and 3,362 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,095
Threads: 248,538
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Daisyg
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Thumbs down Ambient temperature higher than surface temp??!

Hi all,

i am new to bp's and this forum so please bear with me.
    I've kept king snakes before but having trouble getting the husbandry for a bp right so any advice would be appreciated greatly.
    i have a piebald bp, 10 month old, at first set up was great, 60% humidity, 35C ambient temperature, 90f hot spot and 80f cold spot. Over time the ambient temperature has risen to 40C, the surface temp has fallen to 85 on the hot side and 75 on the cold. Even with these changes, my bp has decided the hot side was too much and discovered the cold hide. Now she never comes out when she used to be active, I left her to see if she'd return to the hot side but hasn't even come out to drink. I had to get her out today to see if she was ok and she was freezing to the touch. Placed her on the hot side and she perked up and had a drink and returned to the hot hide. Now the humidity has fallen to 30% and no matter how much I mist it, it never rises. I have forest floor mixed with sphagnum moss, I've added a 3rd moss hide and still no luck with daily misting. She is in a 20g aquarium with moonlight bulb with the thermostat set at 88f. When I turn the heat down the humidity rises but if I want to achieve 90f hot spot the humidity is just massively low.
    Complicated to say the least and I need to solve this ASAP. Thank you guys.

Thanks
    Hi,
    If you use light bulb for heating, the ambient temp can be upper than the surface temp. I don't know what you use to measure it, but maybe the problem is here. The aquarium is screen top?

Thanks