Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,431

3 members and 3,428 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,095
Threads: 248,538
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Daisyg
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Noob.

Thanks

Noob.

I just got my first Ball Python a few days ago. Its name is Monty. Hardly original, I know, but I am too big of a fan of British humor to let the opportunity pass me by! He(I say he, I have not had it sexed yet)is a normal, about 8 months or so in age. As awesome as all the morphs out there are, I have wanted a Ball Python all my life and something about their basic coloring really appeals to me. I am not looking to get into collecting or breeding, but now I can finally check python ownership off my bucket list!
    While I am new to Ball Python ownership, I am not new to herps, as I have two Leopard Geckos. I have had Ganon, my female leo since June of 2013, and my oldest son has a male Leo named Joker, which we have had since September.
    Monty is still small, so I have him in a 20 gallon terrarium with the back and sides covered, with newspaper as a substrate. He has a hide on each side with a soaking sized water bowl in the middle. He only has one plant, and I think he needs more to feel secure, so I plan on picking more up tomorrow.
    I would love to hear opinions on substrate, heating, eating, etc. and I would appreciate any tips you have for newbies.
    I haven't figured out how to add pics yet, as I am on my phone, but hopefully I will be able to post some soon. You can see Monty in my profile pic.

Thanks

Re: Noob.

BPnet Senior Member AlexisFitzy's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,712 Times in 1,512 Posts