Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,386

1 members and 3,385 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,100
Threads: 248,542
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Scott L.
    BPnet Veteran
    Thanks

First Snake (hopefully)! Tips?

My parents are finally considering letting me have a snake. I've been asking since I was in kindergarten, so I'm really excited (they've been dead set against them since forever). My mother is pretty cautious about snakes, but she's coming around. My dad says it's fine as long as I pay for it. They came with me to the pet store to look at snakes, and we all loved the ball pythons. These are the only snakes they actually find cute. I've been researching ball pythons (among other snakes) for the last 2-8 months. However, I still have a few questions and was hoping to get some advice. I'd also love to hear any information for first time snake owners (the class pet was a corn snake, but he wasn't mine).

Is there any specific brand of tank you would recommend? I want something that is escape-proof and won't take too much hassle. I'd prefer a tub, but my mom wants something prettier. Is there anything with the benefits of a tub that is pleasing to see?

Any specific brand of heating equipment? Any specific type?

How much and how often do you feed your snakes? I've seen some mixed information.

I did have more, but of course I forgot it. Too late at night, lol.

Thanks

Re: First Snake (hopefully)! Tips?

Most wooden style, glass fronted vivariums are what you would class as pretty I guess. They are escape proof provided you use them correctly! I own a vivexotic one and find it very nice.