Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 1,265

3 members and 1,262 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,137
Threads: 248,582
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, dangereux
    Thanks

Buying a Mature Ball Python versus a young one

Hi i am not extremely new to snakes but I am new to Ball Pythons and I was going to buy one that is mature; five or six years old, is this a horrible idea or is it fine and will it be able to adjust to a new owner after all those years?

Thanks
    I'm sure it would be fine. I was about to buy a mature snake at that age, but it didn't turn out to be the right temperament for me. As long as the snake pleases you, I say go for it. Have you handled it before?
    -------
    1.0 Normal (100% Het. Albino) - Kaa
    1.0 Pastel Pied - Maxie

Thanks
    Thanked 3,889 Times in 1,948 Posts
    It is perfectly fine. Just make sure you do your due diligence and try and learn as much as you can about the snake you're considering. You don't want to end up getting a good deal on someone else's problems (unless you're prepared to do some "rescue work").

Beyond that, all that's left for you is to provide the proper home that it needs to thrive. In spite of what many people think, each species of snake needs to be cared for in a specific way (temperatures, humidity, feeding, etc). This site is a good place to learn what those things are. As long as you know what these care requirements are for your new ball python ahead of time, and you are prepared to do those things, you shouldn't have any issues.

Welcome to the site!
    Find me on Facebook: E.B. Ball Pythons and Instagram: @EBBallPythons

Thanks
    Thanked 9,878 Times in 4,786 Posts