Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,262

0 members and 3,262 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,096
Threads: 248,539
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, eamorris97
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks

Need a solution to maintain temperatures

Hi everyone!

I'm still relatively new to the world of snakes, I've had reptiles before but never a snake. Now that I have moved out of my parents house I have two. A normal, and a Fire ball. I have a couple of questions that I couldn't find the answer to in stickies or searching. (If my questions are answered in stickies and searches, I apologize...I'm blind haha.)

But anyway,

I have one tank set up in my closet (I took the doors off, and the tank is sitting on my dresser) and the other is DIRECTLY under my A/C vent. Probably isn't the smartest place to keep him but there wasn't much space for him anywhere else lol. My room mate and I like to keep the apartment at about 70 degrees F so it's pretty chilly in here sometimes. (both are glass 40 gallon tanks)

The problem i'm having is keeping my temperatures up. On both set-ups I have two 100w daytime heat lamps (I understand snakes don't need lights on the tank) those fixtures are over the cooler side of the tanks. On the warmer side of the tanks I have the Ultratherm heating mat. I believe the sizes of both heating mats are 17x11 at 30 Watts.

the bulbs seem to be putting out more heat than the heat mats. I have (on each) a digital temp gauge with a probe, and the zoomed temp gauge/humidity gauge.

as of right now its almost 9:00pm so theyre heat lamps are turned off and the digital temp gauge is reading about 77 degrees F on both and the zoomed gauges are about 72-73ish