Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,714

2 members and 2,712 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,102
Threads: 248,542
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Geezy99

Thread: using pvc

Thanks

using pvc

hey guys, im going to be building a rack to house 28 quarts for my males. i usually use good quality plywood for my builds but i was thinking of using pvc for a change. i have no experience with it, but ive read up as much as possible. i have a few remaining questions that i was hoping could be answered. hopefully some of you guys out there have experience with it. the build will be done using 1/2" fyi. all of the racks ive seen built have been done in half inch so im assuming that its plenty sturdy and i like the fact that its lighter than 3/4 in plywood. i have not broke down whether or not i want to do three tubs across or two. when i get into the best usage of the sheets i will decide that. here are my questions.

1) if i do decide to go three across, is it sturdy enough that i dont have to add a support in between each tub? does anyone notice it sagging towards the middle at all?

2) can you treat this just like wood as far as the drilling and screws? what size screws did you guys use and do they hold just like they would in plywood?

3) someone mentioned that they used super glue and that it acts like a weld by melting the plastic together. do you just do it after it is assembled at the joints or do you put it in between the two pieces before you screw them together like a wood glue?

4) what is the difference between xpvc and pvc? when looking online or calling plastic supply companies what exactly did you ask for/search for? was it just a sheet of pvc/xpvc at the dimensions you required or was there other terminology?