Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,284

3 members and 3,281 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,539
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: No Hide?

Thanks

No Hide?

Hey guys im fairly new to the herp world but I've been doing the required reading and finally ran into my first python situation. i recently acquired 2 balls one female and one male. the male is super sweet and not shy but younger and the female 2 months older seems to be very shy and very attached to hides. if i have to get her out first thing she did was search for new hide and i would have to chase with my hand to catch her. so did some research and decided to remove the hide so she wouldn't be dependent on it. couple days later when i got to get her she doesn't move or even flinch her body just lets me take her in my hands. while it feels like it solved my problem will this lead to problems later on? any insight much appreciated

Thanks

Re: No Hide?

I personally wouldn't take the hide away. But I guess you can see how she does without it. You call it dependent, she calls it security.
    If she doesn't eat I would definitely put it back

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk

3. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Crazymonkee For This Useful Post:

Badgemash (12-23-2013),DooLittle (01-17-2014),satomi325 (12-23-2013),ViperSRT3g (01-17-2014)

Thanks
    Is she eating? And where are you keeping her - in an aquarium or a tub? I've read and seen pictures of some opaque tubs that people choose not to use hides in, but if she is new, and especially if she is in an aquarium, she needs her hide. The fact that she doesn't flinch when being handled has nothing to do with a hide or no hide - it has to do with regular handling and how tame she is.