Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,329

3 members and 3,326 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,541
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
    Thanks

On the fence about starting a small breeding colony

Hey folks,
    I'm pretty new to the world of snakes, having only a small collection that started over the summer this year. I am also totally new to the idea of raising my own feeders and need some guidance before I decide to move ahead with this potential project.

At this point, I have 3 snakes,(2 small Kenyan sand boa females and 1 male hognose). I have plans for at least 2 more KSB females, a kingsnake, and 2-3 ball pythons in the future, but those additions will probably not happen until late next year after we move into a house and I invest in a rack or two.

I currently feed f/t, which is working, but I have a problem feeder and find my options limited as only 2 chain stores in my area carry live and neither carry smaller than adult mice.

Given my situation, I am considering starting a very small breeding colony of 1.3 after the new year. and have a few questions for those of you with mouse breeding knowledge to help me make up my mind.

1. Would a 10gl tank for females, a separate tank for the male, and 2 grow out tanks (one for female and one for male offspring) be enough "real estate" for a small colony?

2. The odor of male mice is horrific from what I've read... Would keeping them on pine pelleted bedding (i.e. feline pine) with a layer of aspen on top and cleanings once a week be adequate to deal with this? This is a major concern as my husband is very sensitive to odors.