Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,169

0 members and 3,169 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,095
Threads: 248,538
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Daisyg
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks

Buying off of craigslist

Hello all! I'm still very new to the BP world and I'm trying too learn the certain breeds and morphs as much as I can. However, I have been hovering over craigslist for the last couple of weeks looking for that sweet deal, or that diamond in the rough. I think I have found a few but I am not knowledgeable enough because they are saying the BP are hets. What is the best way to go about finding out if the snake they are selling is truly a het.? Is there certain questions to ask? Certain things to look for? Any help for a newby would be greatly appreciated!
    Thank you!
    Last edited by Ronin; 07-25-2013 at 07:59 PM.
    Semper Fi
    Patience is a virtue

2.1 Normal (Monty, Loki, Izzy)
    1.2 Cinnamon het. 100% pied (Osiris, Isis, Heset)
    0.1 Spider (Hathor)
    1.0 Pastel (Anubis)
    1.0 Pinstripe (Thor)
    0.1 Lesser (Aten)
    1.0 Mohave (Montu)

0.1 BCI Pastel Crimson (Number Six)
    1.0 BCI Normal (Zephyr)
    0.1 BCI Peters Type B (Persephone)

BPnet Veteran The Serpent Merchant's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,300 Times in 2,344 Posts
    By definition a het cannot be distinguished from a normal. There are only 2 ways to know for sure:

1. Know the parents

2. Breed the snake to another snake that it heterozygous or homozygous for the same recessive gene and produce offspring that are homozygous for the gene.

Personally I wouldn't but a het on craigslist.
    ~Aaron

0.1 Pastel 100% Het Clown Ball Python (Hestia)
    1.0 Coastal/Jungle Carpet Python (Shagrath)
    0.1 Dumeril's Boa (Nergal)

0.1 Bearded Dragon (Gaius)