Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,179

0 members and 3,179 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,096
Threads: 248,539
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, eamorris97

Thread: Tegu Informaton

BPnet Senior Member Mephibosheth1's Avatar
    Thanks

Tegu Informaton

Hey all!!

So I am new to the world of reptiles (having just acquired a ball python about 2 months ago) but have always been interested in reptiles. At the local pet shop they have an Argentinian Black and White Tegu, and I think I'm in love....

I REALLY want to get it, but need to look into the husbandry and other needs of a monitor like that. I haven't been able to find much info about their care and keeping, so I was wondering if y'all capfuls help me out some.

Basically I need to know about space requirements, caging, diet, exercise, lighting, heat, humidity, etc. basically everything about Tegus.

i appreciate all your help, and hope to eventually add a tegu to my reptile collection
    CRYSTAL MEPH

1.0 100% Het for Carmel Normal–Mycroft (P. regius)
    1.2 Manx, Scottish Fold, Tabby–Mocha, Precious, Kitty-Beau (F. domesticus)
    30.90 Breeder Mice (M. musculus)

"It will all be okay in the end. If it's not okay, its not the end"
    –John Lennon//oo\\

Thanks
    Thanked 2,795 Times in 1,171 Posts

Re: Tegu Informaton

I haven't been there in a while, but you could check out Tegutalk.com.

Make certain that the tegu you're looking at really IS Argentine. The Colombians are almost always aggressive and if you're new it's easy to mistake one for the other, especially at a pet shop.
    I may not be very smart, but what if I am?
    Stinky says, "Women should be obscene but not heard." Stinky is one smart man.
    www.humanewatch.org