Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,206

3 members and 2,203 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,124
Threads: 248,568
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Rai

Thread: New BP

Thanks

New BP

Hi there I got my BP last week and I am having some concerns I was hoping some of you could help with. I know this will make me sound like a complete newb but I am. So here goes.
    First I am wanting to switch my BP to FT. I offered him a FT rat fuzzy on Monday after I got him and he didn't take it. I didnt worry too much and on Tuesday I got him a mouse which he ate quickly and easily without even a bulge. I got him out today and noticed he has a well defined ridge going down his back. After a little google I am guessing he is loosing weight so I thought I would get him a small rat to see if he would eat. He didn't eat he struck once but only scared the rat who in turn bit him so and he retreated so I took the rat out. I am wondering if the rat is too big. or if there is any other advise anyone can offer. Below I am going to link a pic of him with the rat and the ridge on his back.
    [IMG][/IMG][IMG][/IMG]

2. The Following User Says Thank You to blaz For This Useful Post:

WmHrbst (04-26-2013)

Thanks
    Congrats!

He looks pretty great, weight wise, I really wouldn't be worried. Definitely get smaller rats, but it sounds like he prefers mice..
    Chloe
    0.1 Het Hypo- Indy
    The cup is useful because of it's emptiness

BPnet Veteran
    Thanks
    The rat was definitely too big. He probably needs a rat pup, or an adult mouse (or 2, if he will take them).

BPnet Veteran
    Thanks
    Also, are you feeding him in his enclosure, or moving him to another tub? You may have more luck switching him over if you feed in his enclosure.

Thanks

Re: New BP