Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,611

2 members and 2,609 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

Scott L. (28)

» Stats

Members: 75,129
Threads: 248,574
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, KILLER112397
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,230 Times in 689 Posts

Popping damage possibilities

What kind of damage can occur from improperly popping a snake? I've seen some pictures of people popping and others saying it was done wrong, and poor snake etc, but I haven't really heard of a snake being injured from popping (yet). So I would like to figure out what are the risks being taken when trying to self-educate via video's etc? Is probing a safer self-taught option?

Trying to weigh the risks vs reward, as I desperately need to learn how to sex snakes. Sadly, no one local to go for help (that I trust). I could go to the local mom and pop pet stores, but I really don't trust them 100% for reptiles. One of the two stores has a pair of "breeding pair" ball pythons for sale...the female doesn't look to be 800g if that.

(The local reptile vet wants to charge me $50 a snake for an office visit to sex them...)

Thanks
    Thanked 1,288 Times in 1,090 Posts
    I think self teaching either method is going to come with risks. That being said, I taught myself how to pop using videos online. It seemed like the safer method to teach myself. As long as you are careful (i.e. don't bend their spine) I think it's fairly easy to teach yourself how to pop. Also younger snakes are much easier to learn to pop with.

As far as I know I didn't damage any of my snakes while learning and I can do it reliably now.

It takes a while to learn, but palpating is also another method you can use. I wouldn't say it's 100%, but with larger snakes it will give you a pretty good idea.

http://www.moonlightboas.com/care-in...of-a-snake.php
    Rebecca