Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,364

1 members and 3,363 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,541
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Does my BP look skinny?

Hey guys, as some of you may know I recently adopted a BP that was being kept is less-than-ideal conditions. Not that the previous owner disliked the snake, mind you, she just seemed a bit misinformed. I'm still brand new to keeping snakes, but I've learned a ton in my weeks of research.

Anyway. After looking at loads of BP pictures all day, every day, I'm beginning to suspect that my guy is a bit on the skinny side. I especially suspect this since the previous owner told me that she only fed him once a month. I plan on feeding him once a week, starting this Monday.

He's about 4 years old, approximately 50" in length, and currently weighs 1550 g (though he ate two medium rats last Thursday - he bit the previous owner's hand after she fed him one rat, so she fed him another "because he seemed hungry" - I can't imagine why, being fed once a month! - anyway, he hasn't pooped yet since then, so the weight's a bit off). Here's a few pictures, what do you think?

-Savanna

0.1 Normal BP (Onyx)

Thanks
    Thanked 2,962 Times in 1,669 Posts
    Looks like a healthy male to me!

Thanks
    I'm just gonna go on a limb here and say with a snake that size unless it's sexed male I'd bet female. And (s)he looks healthy.

Thanks
    He doesn't look too skinny to me either. Males tend to be lankier. If it were a female, I'd tell ya to bulk her up some, but I think you're good to go.

Thanks
    Thanks guys! I'm glad to hear that he looks good
    -Savanna

0.1 Normal BP (Onyx)

Thanks
    Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,206 Posts

Re: Does my BP look skinny?