Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,210

3 members and 3,207 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,095
Threads: 248,538
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Daisyg
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New to Pythons

Thanks

He is home.....yes indeed

Hi Everybody,

I am really new to pythons, so I have a few questions. I just put my 20 inch Ball, Seraph, in her enclosure last night. I have it heated by a 75W blacklight on the hot side and a "people's" heating pad on the cool side. She is in a 10 Gal. with wire screen lid.

First, I have a terra cotta hide for her on the warm side, right under the basking light. Do you think I should switch her water bowl to the warm side and her hide to the cool side? She seems to be staying on the cooler side,between her water dish and the side of the tank.

Second, the cooler side tepmerature is at 85 and the warmer side temperature is at 89. But, like I said, she hasn't gone in the warmer side yet. Could it be too hot for her?

Thanks For Your Help.
    You can either email me or reply here.

Thanks
    Try putting a hide box also on the cool side and she will go where she feels comfortable.
    My Ozzy I keep warm side about 90-92 and cool side about 77-82 with night time temps at about 85 warm side to 75 cool side.
    Ozzy stays pretty much in hide on cool side which is more toward the middle of cage. I have him in a 20 gal glass tank with screen lid.
    What are your humditiy levels??
    ~ Johanna ~ aka Jody

"The greatness of a nation and it's moral progress can be measured by the way it's animals are treated"
    ~ Mahatma Gandhi~

How are you measuring your temps? I suggest getting a good digital thermometer. Temps are not something you should be guesing at.