Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,342

2 members and 3,340 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,097
Threads: 248,541
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Travism91
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Considering a blood next?

Currently, I own 3 ball pythons and 2 corn snakes, and have for almost 2 years.
    I know I'm still a novice keeper, but I was considering in the next few years possibly getting a blood python. I've read that captive bred individuals can have very nice temperaments, but like any snake, I know they're all different. It depends on the snake itself.
    Do you think it's a bad idea to go from balls and corns to bloods? Has anyone done it? What advice do blood keepers have about keeping your first one? Any tricks to use with bloods?
    Thanks for the advice. Like I said, I'm not getting one tomorrow, just maybe in a few years.
    2.3 normal ball pythons
    .1 ultramel motley het caramel corn snake
    1. butter motley het caramel+stripe corn snake
    1. fiance I had to rehome my kitty, and my dog got cancer and we put her down. RIP.(Did I forget anything??)

Thanks
    Not a bad idea at all. You obviously are educated to know to do your research before aquiring one!

You will love them. Very rewarding to work with. It always depends on the individual of course, but for the most part these guys are just awesome temperment wise. Not a ball python by any means, but not the 'monsters' they are sometimes portrayed to be.

I'd reccomend talking with a few different reputable breeders before making a final decision. You want someone that will take the time to talk to you, and answer any questions you have. If you want decent temperments, be sure to purchase a captive hatched baby, not a farm bred one.