Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,360

2 members and 3,358 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,095
Threads: 248,538
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Daisyg
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Breeding Issues

Thanks

Breeding Issues

So for the last month I've been pairing two of my BPs. This is my first year doing this, so I'm exceptionally new to this. It also doesn't help that I'm breeding two virgins.

Here's my problem -
    I've been pairing them on and off every 3 days (3 together, 3 apart) and offering food on the 2nd day apart - to both of them. Sometimes the female eats, the male never eats (I've had him since Oct, and he hasn't eaten so much as a fly).
    Temps for both tanks are 91-80 (hot to cool), humidity is between 60-70, depending on time of day. Both tanks have two hides - both are large enough for both snakes to fit in comfortably. I've been putting them in Her tank - not his. I understand this can take a while, but here's my concern.
    Both of them are kept in 55g aquariums with black mesh lids that I've messed with to make them hold moisture better. They do not require tie-downs like some of the others do. They just do not care about getting out. Ever.

Until I put Icky in with Sable. They are usually fine, but whenever Sable gets to "Tail snuggling" he absolutely FREAKS and runs for his LIFE. I've tried putting a tie down on the tank but whenever I do that - I watch them - and Icky was trying so hard to get out I was afraid he was going to hurt himself.