Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,959

2 members and 2,957 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,126
Threads: 248,569
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Stephendici
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Heating problems with 28q tub

Hello All!
    I am new to ball pythons and will be getting my very first one in just a few hours. I've read numerous posts and the care sheet here on the forum and have tried to do everything you guys all commonly recommend but I've run into an issue with heating my tub with my UTH.
    I bought a 10-20 gallon UTH, which I think probably only covers 1/4 of the floor of the tub (I know 1/3 to a 1/2 is recommended), and I have it on a thermostat set to 94 degrees. Now the basking spot (below substrate) is a perfect 94, but the ambient temps in the tub are at 69-71 degrees, measured with my acurite with probe. oh and I'm using a thin layer of newspaper covered by a thin layer of eco-earth (to help with humidity) as substrate.
    Is the ambient temp ok as long as the basking spot is good, or should I increase the size of my UTH?

Thanks so much for suggestions!

Thanks
    Thanked 4,381 Times in 3,885 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Is your tub pretty tall? Getting one that is only 6 inches or so high, might fix the problem. 69-71 is on the low side, especially for a tub. I try to keep mine around 80, but it dips to 75 during the cold months in my 41 qt tubs.

What is the basking spot above the substrate-where your snake lays.

As for the mat only covering 1/4 of the tub, that's probably the main problem. The more area the mat covers the better it will be at keeping the ambient temps up.

Thanks

Re: Heating problems with 28q tub