Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,113

2 members and 3,111 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,130
Threads: 248,575
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, RelentlessPanda
    Thanks

First BP, First Bite

So i got my BP exactly a week ago from today and I just fed him tonight.
    He had a hard time adjusting his food in his mouth but he finally ate it.
    He's about 2 months old and 20", so i offered him 2 pinkies.
    While giving him the second one, he totally ignored it and striked at my hand. I even bled as he was still hanging on my fingers.
    Now I'm not sure if BP's are a bit more aggressive during feeding time or not but I've been feeding my corn for 6 years now with only 4" tongs and never had a problem.
    I'm thinking either he got confused with my hand or they are just more aggressive.
    But was it too soon to feed him? Is this normal for a juvie to do that or am i going to have to deal with this every time until he learns the difference?
    Any opinions are appreciate it and sorry if this has been asked before.
    Ill have to get longer tongs now.

Thanks

Re: First BP, First Bite

first, congrats on your first bite! second, its most likely cause hes so young, he smelt the pinkie and saw your giant hand and went for that, just because theyre oppertunistic eaters so theyre wired to go for what they can when they can, but eventually he'll figure it out
    ლ(ಠ益ಠლ)

Reptiles EVERYWHERE! Foschi Exotic Serpents's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,993 Times in 1,292 Posts
    Pinky what? Mice? Even pinky rats are too small for even most new ball python hatchlings unless it happens to be a very small hatchling.